Celebrating young physicists

21 December 2018

A University of Southampton event this month concluded the Ogden Schools Physicist of the Year (SPOTY) awards for 2018.

SPOTY events celebrate the efforts and achievements of outstanding young physicists, including many Year 6 primary students who receive Primary Scientist of the Year Awards.

The events welcome the most promising physics students, the dedicated teachers and the proud parents to share the excitement of science. As well as recognising the young physicists and awarding their certificates of achievement, the events give a real flavour of what it means to study physics, with hands-on activities and lectures.

This is the sixth time SPOTY awards have been held at the University of Southampton celebrating the talent of exceptional students studying physics across Southampton’s schools.

Over 25 Year 11 physics students from schools in the local area received awards in recognition for their efforts during the year. They were supported on the evening by their parents and the teachers who nominated them.

Dr Sadie Jones, Outreach Leader in Physics and Astronomy at the University and event organiser says: “This award ceremony is a great opportunity for the students, their parents and teachers to celebrate their success and also get a taster of what physics at university is like.”

In addition to the awards, the Light Express Roadshow was presented by Pearl John, Public Engagement Leader, and PhD students Tom Jefferson-Brain, Angela De Fazio and Tiberius Georgescu. The Light Express features a dazzling laser light display created by powerful lasers not generally seen outside research labs. The show presents its audience with a series of fascinating visual demonstrations exploring the physics of light and the science behind the internet developed at the University of Southampton.

  • Share