Ogden Physics Prizes

The Ogden Trust offers an annual prize of National Book Tokens to the value of £25 for the most promising Year 10 physics student nominated by Ogden Partnership Schools. We are seeking the best potential A-level student who, by receiving this award, will be encouraged to study physics at A-level and beyond.

If you wish to nominate a student, please complete the Proposal Form and return it to The Ogden Trust. We will then email you a certificate and post the book token to be presented at your school's prize giving/awards ceremony. Administration of Ogden prizes is done by our Registrar, Jane Fidler - if you have any queries about prizes, please contact Jane directly.*

The Trust also supports Schools Physicist of the Year Awards (SPotY) for Year 12 students, recognising the most promising A-level physics students. These are run annually at universities around the UK and are organised by Ogden University Science Officers, supported by Teacher Fellows and Partnership Co-ordinators. Eligible schools with sixth forms will be invited to nominate students. 

*Please note that:

  • they will be eligible to apply for a means-tested Ogden Trust Undergraduate Science Scholarship, worth £1,500 per year for up to 4 years, if they are applying to a UK university to read for a physics degree
  • these prizes replace the historic Year 11 prizes